Music Reissue

Jaiyede Sessions vol. 1 & t-shirts

El Paraiso Records
New release, t-shirts and 3 reissues!
Visit the shop
London Odense Ensemble: Jaiyede Sessions Vol. 2
The eagerly awaited follow up of the merger of the vibrant London Jazz scene with the established danish psychedelic underground! Fry your mind on the latest single: the raw & fuzzy Casper’s Green.

Limited to 750 copies on black vinyl – also available on CD. Preorder now: ships January 2023.

Pre-order LP
Here are some tasty El Paraiso t-shirts! 2 colours, men’s & girlies!
Also we have some caught after classics back in print:
Papir: III (500 copies on green vinyl). 10 year anniversary remaster.
Causa Sui: Summer Sessions vol. 1 (300 copies on purple vinyl)
Causa Sui: Euporie Tide (300 copies on purple vinyl)
And finally remember that we’re presenting Causa Sui and Mythic Sunship at Loppen and there are now FEW TICKETS LEFT!
Buy tickets
Unsubscribe   |   View online
facebook  youtube  soundcloud  instagram

London Odense Ensemble

Preorder up now – shipping in June!

In recent years London has become an epicenter for experimental, visionary jazz. On this unique session, two of the finest exponents of the London jazz scene, Tamar Osborn and Al MacSween, join forces with members of the celebrated Danish psychedelic underground – Jonas Munk, Jakob Skøtt and Martin Rude – to create a heady sonic brew. On this first volume of material there’s everything one could hope for in such a collaboration: sonically it summons the free flowing euphoria of Alice Coltrane and Pharoah Sanders’ work in the late 1960s and early 1970s. But there’s also a focus on rhythmic energy and vitality that calls to mind the grooviest krautrock or electric period Miles Davis, as well as a healthy dose of electronic experiments.

Throughout these five tracks the quintet paints with a colourful palette. Tamar Osborn shifts between baritone sax and flutes. Keyboardist Al MacSween doesn’t just stick with the tried and true electric piano – an instrument which he masters – but showers these tracks in analog synths and effects as well. Add to that the fact that Jonas Munk took a somewhat creative approach when editing and mixing these pieces – with effects boxes wired in, occasionally giving the mix a dubby, ambient atmosphere. Similar to Munk and Skøtt’s main project, Causa Sui, digging into the past becomes a vehicle to open up the future. What the quintet has created in these sessions is something quite unique.

Tamar Osborn:

Saxophonist, composer and multi-wind instrumentalist is the creative force behind modal jazz ensemble Collocutor (On The Corner Records). She is a member of the Dele Sosimi Afrobeat Orchestra, performs and collaborates regularly with Sarathy Korwar, Jessica Lauren, Emanative, Ill Considered and DJ Khalab.

Al MacSween:

Keyboard player & founding member of Kefaya. Collaborations include American jazz legend Gary Bartz, Syrian qanun master Maya Youseff, London Community Gospel Choir, Palestinian jazz singer Reem Kelani & kora player Kadialy Kouyate.

Martin Rude:

Multi-string instrumentalist & lead singer in Sun River. Doubles as stand-in bass player in Causa Sui.

Jakob Skøtt:

Drummer in Causa Sui with a slew of side projects on El Paraiso, including Chicago Odense Ensemble, as well as being responsible for the label’s visuals.

Jonas Munk:

Guitarist in Causa Sui & studio wizard on most releases on El Paraiso. Also works with a wide palette of electronic music.



Videodrones, Causa Sui, Futuropaco

Hey everyone! We’re back with a new webshop and new albums! Check them out here and thanks for sticking with us! All limited to 500 LP copies with Obi-strip. Shipping April 29th. Pre-orders up now.

Videodrones: After the Fall

After 3 albums based purely on synthesizers, the danish duo take a leap by adding live drums & guitars to their latest album. A natural step, considering that Jakob Skøtt, one half of the duo, spends his time drumming in Causa Sui, as well as a slew of jazz-infused projects on El Paraiso.

All basic tracks were recorded in an improv session at Jonas Munk’s studio in Odense, capturing both synths and drums live. The expansion of drums adds a natural 70’s groove, maintaining a spontaneous vibe that also soaks into the analogue synths of modular wizard Kristoffer Ovesen. The improvised sessions were later honed, edited & layered, bringing forth the best of both spontaneous ideas, as well a multi-dimensional approach bringing a new depth to Videodrones extensive cinematic undercurrent of sounds. With the addition of echo & reverb drenched guitars, the duo is tapping into sounds in new realms yet strangely familiar.

After The Fall may conceptually nod it’s head towards a gloomy state of affairs, but akin to the italian post-apocalyptic movies of the 80’s, doomsday never felt this heady and funky before.


Pre-order LP

Back in print: Causa Sui: Free Ride 2xLP

Back in Print: Futuropaco LP

All LPs limited to 500 copies. With Obi-strip.
News Uncategorized

New website

Hey just a quick post to welcome this new site. We’re starting off with just the releases we have physically available on the site, and will be adding the digital product as releases become available. So not all download codes from releases a few years old work at the moment, but the will be added when that release is available again. Sorry for any inconvenience.