Causa Sui & Futuropaco preorders

Causa Sui & Futuropaco are back with new LPs!
Limited to 1000 copies on vinyl.
Get them now
Causa Sui: Loppen 2021
Catalog number: EPR073LP

Format: 2LP (1000 copies on coloured “ecomix” vinyl, includes download card) 

Release date: September 29th 2023

Double LP set capturing some of Causa Sui’s heaviest, most psychedelic tunes recorded live at Loppen – a legendary Copenhagen venue, located in the famous – and infamous – Freetown Christiania commune. This is the sound of Causa Sui at their home turf, stretching out and exploring eight epic fan-favourites from their entire catalogue in front of a small crowd of 400 people in a packed sold-out venue. The show was recorded the first week that Covid restrictions were lifted on venues in Denmark, which called for an especially buzzing night, even for a band that has exclusively played no more than a handful of shows each year since their 2005 debut.

Each Causa Sui show is unique. Here we’re offered a different perspective of the band’s music – it’s looser, more free-flowing, and some tracks are warped into something far from their original versions, bouncing off the wooden beams on the low ceiling of Loppen with renewed energy. At one point you can hear the band calling to take a breather and let some air inside the sauna-like temperature of the show, which just weeks before seemed impossible. Loppen 2021 offers a complete set from start to finish, so since chances that you’ll catch the band live in person are slim, this is the next best thing.

Mixed and mastered by Jonas Munk. Edition of 1000 copies on coloured ecomix vinyl. Includes download card.

Pre-order LP
Futuropaco: Fortezza di Vetro vol. 1
Catalog number: EPR074

Formats: CD/LP (1000 LPs on black vinyl, includes download card)

Release date: October 13th 2023


First new sounds from Futuropaco in five years. Futuropaco, a.k.a. Justin Pinkerton from Oakland, California creates colourful psychedelic music – a pan-cultural cratedigger’s delight that welcomes in a wide range of elements – from afro-beat and post rock to Italian library music and heavy psych. 


The title translates to “The Glass Fortress” and is a reference to the fragility of the superpowers of the world, such as the US: “As we witnessed in the height of the pandemic and it’s after effects, it doesn’t take much to take down one of these entities that hide behind the facade of power and indestructibility. One tiny crack can trigger an unstoppable catastrophe.” says Pinkerton of the album concept. “Though Futuropaco songs are instrumental I tend to channel my feelings about politics and the world through them. Unfortunately, the world can be a terrible place at times, so there is a sort of dark, at times angry, theme to these songs. But, instead of writing lyrics to convey those feelings, I just let the music do the talking.”

But despite (or perhaps because of) it’s underlying dark inception, Justin’s new album is a terrific ride, from the first notes of earth-shaking opener “Muro Vuoto” to the mysterious and dreamy closer “Omicidio Per Soldi”. Not a second is wasted on this record, every vinyl groove is packed with ideas and sounds that demand attention, whether they originate from Justin’s vintage Moog synthesizers, his Turkish Saz, fuzz guitars or flute layered on top of Pinkerton’s meticulously crafted, yet bone shaking drum fills. You could spend hours analysing what’s going on musically, but that’s beside the point – the nine tracks offered here are simply an invitation to surrender yourself to the head-spinning grooves and mesmerizing timbres. A truly unique psychedelic experience, and this is just volume 1!

Both LPs limited to 1000.